BAFTA 2019
Bafta Members

Login to access additional material


“A tough, raw, humane depiction of the Jamaican diaspora in 1980s London with a killer soundtrack."
★ ★ ★ ★
Andy Lea, Daily Express
Starring : Aml Ameen, Shantol Jackson, Stephen Graham, Fraser James, Sheldon Shepherd, Everaldo Creary
Director : Idris Elba
ProducerS : Gina Carter, Robin Gutch
WriterS : Brock Norman Brock, Martin Stellman
Based on the novel by Victor Headley
SYNOPSIS: Set in ’70s Kingston and ’80s Hackney, Yardie centres on the life of a young Jamaican man named D (Aml Ameen), who has never fully recovered from the murder, committed during his childhood, of his older brother Jerry Dread (Everaldo Creary). D grows up under the wing of a Kingston Don and music producer named King Fox (Sheldon Shepherd). Fox dispatches him to London, where he reconnects with his childhood sweetheart, Yvonne (Shantol Jackson), and his daughter who he's not seen since she was a baby. He also hooks up with a soundclash crew, called High Noon. But before he can be convinced to abandon his life of crime and follow “the righteous path”, he encounters the man who shot his brother 10 years earlier, and embarks on a bloody, explosive quest for retribution — a quest which brings him into conflict with vicious London gangster Rico (Stephen Graham).
Best Film: Gina Carter, Robin Gutch
British Film:
Idris Elba, Brock Norman Brock, Martin Stellman, Gina Carter, Robin Gutch
Outstanding Debut
By A British Writer,
Director Or Producer:
Idris Elba - Director
Director: Idris Elba
Adapted Screenplay: Brock Norman Brock, Martin Stellman
Based on the novel by Victor Headley
Leading Actor: Aml Ameen
Supporting Actor: Everaldo Creary, Stephen Graham, Fraser James, Sheldon Shepherd
Supporting Actress: Shantol Jackson, Naomi Ackie
Cinematography: John Conroy
Editing: Justine Wright
Production Design: Damien Creagh, David Morison
Costume Design: James Keast
Make-up and Hair: Jojo Williams
Special Visual Effects: Dolores McGinley, Nick Rideout
Sound: Robert Flanagan, Jeremy Price, Nigel Squibbs, Michael Maroussas
Original Music: Dickon Hinchliffe